On the NFL Playoffs

Adam Vinatieri misses a field goal. Scott Norwood makes a field goal.
Lee Evans catches a pass. Clarence Davis drops a pass.
Aaron Bailey catches a pass. Jackie Smith catches a pass.
Dwight Clark drops a pass.
Lewis Billups makes an interception. Asante Samuel makes an interception.
Earnest Byner doesn’t fumble. Jerry Rice is ruled to have fumbled.
Roger Craig doesn’t fumble. Tom Brady is ruled to have fumbled.
Pete Stoyanovich makes a field goal. Adam Vinatieri misses another field goal.
Drew Pearson is called for pass interference. Ronnie Lott is not called for holding.
Ray Hamilton is not called for roughing.
Kevin Dyson scores.
Jack Tatum hits Fuqua with slightly less force.
And these are just some obvious ones.
Why do people rate quarterbacks based on “wins” and “rings” and so forth?

Possible Conference Title Games and Playoff History Behind Each Matchup

Giants at 49ers
2002 Wild Card: 49ers 39, Giants 38
1993 Divisional: 49ers 44, Giants 3
1990 NFC Championship: Giants 15, 49ers 13
1986 Divisional: Giants 49, 49ers 3
1985 Wild Card: Giants 17, 49ers 3
1984 Divisional: 49ers 21, Giants 10
1981 Divisional: 49ers 38, Giants 24
Giants at Saints
49ers at Packers
2001 Wild Card: Packers 25, 49ers 15
1998 Wild Card: 49ers 30, Packers 27
1997 NFC Championship: Packers 23, 49ers 10
1996 Divisional: Packers 35, 49ers 14
1995 Divisional: Packers 27, 49ers 17
Saints at Packers
Broncos at Ravens
2000 Wild Card: Ravens 16, Broncos 3
Broncos at Texans
Ravens at Patriots
2009 Wild Card: Ravens 33, Patriots 14
Texans at Patriots

A Matter of Time: Baseball Hall of Fame

Barry Larkin has, fortunately, made the Hall of Fame. What about the still-hopefuls?

Jack Morris jumped from 54% to 67% and now has two years left on the ballot. It’s looking good for him, but given the strength of the next two classes, it’s no guarantee.

In his second year, Jeff Bagwell went from 42% to 56%. He should be in by now, but it seems a pretty safe bet that he will eventually get the call.

Tim Raines has gone from 30% to 37% to now 49%. He deserves to be in, and the trends are looking good.

For the three players above, I’m willing to say it’s a matter of time before they’re in.

Elsewhere, Alan Trammell also made a decent jump this year, from 24% to 37%, easily the highest he’s ever gotten. He’s got four more years. Perhaps Larkin’s induction will pick up more votes for Trammell in the coming years.

Edgar Martinez managed only to get back to his first year level (about 36%). His chances depend on how, if at all, the writers’ views of the DH evolve. It will be interesting to see where he is when David Ortiz is five-years retired.

Lee Smith cracked a majority (51%) for the first time, but time is running out.

Mark McGwire may never see 20% again.

Fred McGriff and Larry Walker, meanwhile, are just above 20% this year, and while they have time, they have a long ways to go.

Don Mattingly and Dale Murphy have been on the ballot for ages but have no chance as their frame of opportunity closes while they hover around 15%.

Juan Gonzalez, after cracking 5% last year, falls off the ballot with his 4% this year.

Only Bernie Williams, with just under 10%, gets a second year among this year’s first-timers. He’ll probably last at least a couple more years.

And that’s that.

Source: bbwaa.com